books · Uncategorized

On The Road~Jack Kerouac

Hello! I don’t really know who should I apologize first, you or myself, for not writing anything for such a long time(it’s been a month since I posted something last time). But, in that meantime, I was kind of occupied with other things and mostly reading, so I really have lots of things to say and it feels so good to review again. While listening to Oasis, let me start 🙂

I was reading The Perks Of Being a Wallflower, and of course I had to check all the books Charlie read and this was one of them. I honestly have never heard of this author before (forgive my ignorance), but as soon as you google his name there are many interesting information since he was a pioneer of Beat Generation and was friend with other famous authors such as Burroughs and Ginsberg. So, this very novel is one classic of the world literature and something different from anything I’ve read before. 9780141189215

Maybe it’s pointless to describe a plot, you can find that on Wikipedia and also, it’s really complicated. He’s always on the road-alone, with friends, with Dean-and the novel has five parts that represent that five road trips. The novel is, just like many other Kerouac’s, actually written inspired by his real life and life of his friends. So, with slight changes, these are all real experiences.

Sal Paradise (Kerouac) is a young writer, living a relatively quiet life, after a tragedy he had, and then, here comes Dean Moriarty (Neal Cassady) who intrigues him with his life story and everything. The way Dean lives, his excitement about life and just his entire personality. He actually was a big inspiration for Sal, who bonded with him on some level so they remained good friends although their friendship wasn’t common. Because nothing about Dean was.

 “[…]the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes “Awww!”

And, as he says, the part of his life ‘on the road’, begins with meeting him. I love the way Kerouac is writing. His style is unique, it’s so fluent and it keeps your attention. Every detail is given attention and especially the psychological portrait of the characters. You can see that the book’s been written in one breath. Kerouac was actually writing it three weeks, with no break on one huge sheet of paper. If you ask me, that’s amazing commitment to writing and something that deserves respect.

It really is an insight in that whole Beat Generation. Despite all the things that may look wrong like drugs, theft, disrespect to law, I get an impression that they only wanted more from life, one better world. That they were all just misunderstood. They found freedom on the road, in the books, in jazz that they adored.

“The best teacher is experience and not through someone’s distorted point of view”

“I was surprised, as always, by how easy the act of leaving was, and how good it felt. The world was suddenly rich with possibility.”

This book just worked for me. It is, according to many, one of the greatest American novels of the 20th century. And most certainly, a great read.

Movie, considering numerous events that appear in the book, is pretty good. I was kinda suspicious on how can someone impersonate Dead Moriarty because… well because he is Dean Moriarty! But, Garrett Hedlund did it quite well.

On-The-Road-Quotes-on-the-road-movie-30725715-500-189

All in all, you should really read this one, and if you already have, leave a comment! ❤ -S

log

 

2 thoughts on “On The Road~Jack Kerouac

  1. I really agree with your comment about it seeming like the book was written in one breath. And he really brings everyone to life. I think for those reasons, I actually found myself getting tired of Dean’s shenanigans and I had to put the book down for a few months. But I enjoyed it. Kerouac is a great writer and the book left me with a lot to think about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

