books

July bookworming

Hello everyone! I think that no matter how determined I am to write more blog posts, I just never do so. What a shame about me. Since the last time I’ve written something, I’ve read three books and seen movies and everything, and I’ll try to sum it up in this one post. So, three reviews. Because one is too mainstream.

  • Me Before You~Jojo Moyes 

'Me_Before_You'

I’ve been seeing this book a lot lately, it was all over Bookstagram and reviewed many times here as well. Honestly, I loved this book, even if its end caused mixed feelings in me. There’s a slight irony that Will, who is intending to die, actually thought Lou and all of us how to live our lives the best we can.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

It is full of humobd6735c7b618f9b7d9d59c13f6816438r which I really liked and it explains all kind of complicated relationships between us people. It is following one heartbreaking story that started with looking for any kind of job and ended with this perfect love story with a cry-so-hard termination. I’ve been weeping for the last 50 pages. Literally. The movie, on the other side, wasn’t that good, but I adore Sam Claflin, so, I have to say I liked it. In some moments, Emilia Clarke reminded me of Lou so much. Her craziness was just perfect for the role. But, in that never ending book vs movie fight, book wins again. And damn, I want those black and yellow tights.

  • Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo~Christiane F.

Christiane-F---Wir-Kinder-vom-Bahnhof-Zoo-B005OXYB4E_xxl

Well, I wanted to read this one for a long time mostly because all of my friends read it and approved it as a good read. I can definitely agree on one thing-it leaves a reeeally strong impression.  Storyteller, Christiane F. is a 15 year old heroin addict. And even that very fact was quite shocking, I mean that she started using drugs at age of 13, 14. Starting from the time when she moved to Berlin with her parents and then it’s just so hard to read about how can things fall apart so fast. It was even disturbing. But, it reveals the truth about one age, about the psychology of that time and the society that had a big influence on lives of all those young people.

 

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower~Stephen Chbosky 51Nam+nXVuL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

I think I liked TPOBAW the most. Because, I was a freshman this year too, and besides, I could identify in many things with Charlie. I think that Chbosky created one character that is a definition of a wallflower.

You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand.”

The story is about his life mostly but also everyone who he hangs out with, with an accent on Sam and Patrick-actually, his best friends. So, this is a life of a teenager. But, it’s from his perspective. All his thoughts, his fears, memories, childhood traumas and misunderstanding, all in all, his life in form of letters. And when I think of Charlie, my heart just melts. Sometimes, I could really fell how hard was it for him to look at the world around him. And how wrecked he was inside. That’s what made this book beautiful for me. That, and an amazing soundtrack. I am a HUGE fan of The Smiths and Asleep is sooo perfect song. AND I also put all the books he read (and I haven’t yet) on my TBR pile. So, right now I’m reading one of them-On The Road.

The-Perks-Of-Being-A-Wallflower-the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-33262344-500-669

In this case, I actually liked the movie! Yay! Logan Lerman (Charlie) is suuuuch a cutiepie and Ezra Miller (Patrick) is hilarious and Emma Watson (Sam)-is just wonderful. It was just so nice.

In my opinion, I would like the world to have more people like Charlie. Not wallflowers. Just, people who listen-not talk, people who understand-not misunderstand, the ones who truly love-not fake. I am sure that would make a world a better place. And also, people who listen The Smiths. And who read books. Haha. So, have you read any of these? Leave a comment, I’d like to hear your thoughts. -S ❤

log

3 thoughts on “July bookworming

  1. I saw the preview of Me before you and I fell in love. I realised there is a book about it and am dying to get my hands on it. (Need to plan a visit to the bookshop soon). Perks….wallflower… hmmmm I cannot say I enjoyed it as much as I had anticipated. Maybe I was in a different frame of mind while reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

