books · Uncategorized

Jane Eyre~Charlotte Brontë

Hey everyone, long time no see! Actually, reaaaally long time no see. I feel so ashamed of not writing blog posts but lately I’ve been overcrowded with finals and even when I had some time, I couldn’t find any motivation to write something. I don’t know if it’s just me, and my problems but whatever it was, it’s over, and I’m back to being boring with my book reviews and fangirling and uh, let me start.

So, yeah, one 10210more classic. And I have to admit that reading it wasn’t a difficult process
although it’s not a small book. It’s quite complex because it follows the whole life of one person-Jane Eyre. Or should I say, Jane Rochester? Ok, this was a little bit of spoiling, but I mean, classic book, and a young women, her employer… One thing leads to another. But, in my opinion, love between Jane and Edward wasn’t the only beautiful thing about this novel.

In the beginning, many of us can relate to a young Jane who is temperamental and she can’t stand being punished for things she didn’t even do. She fights for herself but is constantly humiliated by her aunt Mrs. Reed. And the only thing she wants is to run away from her, and one day after and incident with her cousin John, she’s finally on her way out of that house where she was never wanted after all-her next stop is Lowood school.

There she meets, and we as well, a completely opposite character-Helen Burns. As I said, Helen is calm, and she takes her punishment as she deserved it. Of course, we shouldn’t do that, but there is truth in her words.

“Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity or registering wrongs.”

What happens with her… I’m not that big spoiler. After Lowood, Jane gets a job at Thornfield Hall. And there she meets Mr. Rochester. Maybe I didn’t like the idea of them together at first, but you just can’t stay immune on a pure love.

“I have for the first time found what I can truly love–I have found you. You are my sympathy–my better self–my good angel–I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely: a fervent, a solemn passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wrap my existence about you–and, kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one.”

1-Jane-Eyre-quotes

Also, I don’t think the plot twist in the end and delaying the obvious happy ending was necessary. But, ending was happy-I was happy. Once again, there are many ways to look at this book. Of course, there’s kind of reminder to all women that they shouldn’t feel lower than men or afraid of saying what they think and show their feelings no matter what rank they are and who are they talking to. I’m sure that it was hard for Jane Eyre to admit her feeling and after that to stick to her principles and leave love of her life. But she was right both ways.

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

Jane-Eyre-2011-jane-eyre-2011-25511931-1920-1040

When I read the book, normally, I wanted to see the movie adaptation and honestly, I was really satisfied with the cast but not so much with the direction. I think that for someone who didn’t read the book, it’s hard to understand some things, and the fact that there are some scenes missing isn’t that bad but some not so important scenes are given most attention and the love story seems to develop really quick compared to the book, but to be honest I have nothing against that-I’m always weak on a good romance. And seeing Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender together is sooo romantic and I love love love it! However, I’ll surely watch some other screen adaptation and if you liked some, please recommend! And, that would be everything. Thanks for reading, leave comments 🙂 ❤ -S

log

2 thoughts on “Jane Eyre~Charlotte Brontë

  1. One of my old favs…. we did this book as part of a literature course. Trust me you need to RE-READ this book with a literaly guide. The book is so rich in symbolism, it adds a whole different twist to the book…. did you wonder why there was reference to the weather at the beginning of some scenes? Did you get how the red room ( in the begginning) was linked to a later part in the book) do you know what the tree that was split by lightening symbolises?? See… lol. But a great choice. Another great recommendation would be Wuthering Heights

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

