books · Uncategorized

All The Bright Places~Jennifer Niven

Greetings everyone! In my last post except for I said hello to May I also mentioned18460392 that I was reading this book-All The Bright Places. In last few months I’ve read reviews all over WordPress and Goodreads and I thought-let’s see what’s this about! So, um, I finished it and actually waited to figure out what do I think about this book anyway? Well, I hope I have the answer.

Ah, so, there’s Finch and there’s Violet. And that’s pretty much what this book is about. And that’s what I thought when I first started reading it. At the very beginning we can see that Finch is a suicidal boy who is really weird and I think that I was a bit of disappointed when there’s a classic story about a guy who’s different than the others, who doesn’t fit in and a girl who falls in love with him. Yeah, but that’s what I THOUGHT. Actually for a while it’s one step from turning into boring love story. But, Violet wasn’t really delighted with Theodore’s feelings. She was trying to avoid him as she was still depressed with her sisters death. And the fact that he knows her darkest secret-that was just making it worse. But he didn’t let her go. He was already in love and he actually made her do the things that she would never do otherwise and he helped her to continue her life despite her sisters death and oh, sometimes we all need someone to do that for us.

You need to jump back on that camel. Otherwise you’re going to stay up on the ledge you’ve made for yourself.

But, how can someone be so special and encourage people to live their lives the best they possibly can when he’s deeply destroyed and have so complicated feelings and can’t even help himself? I guess that he just didn’t want her to feel like he did. In a way of not living and slowly falling into the hole her mind is digging for itself. But, the fact was that he loved her. And that’s the feeling he wanted her to feel too. So, she did. I mean, how could she possibly resist? A problematic, weird, cute guy who’s reading books and btw he’s in love with you? They were so sweet in the times when they were just in love and nothing was wrong.

ATBPQuote

But, of course, something about this book simply had to make you cry. I was so devastated while reading the end. I was sobbing and crying and WHY THE HELL DID THAT HAPPEN?! I mean, how, what, why, WHAT? I was so sad and that’s a small word. And when I think about Finch, I think, well, it’s just not fair. I’m also mad. On his parents. Ok, dad was and old problem and that’s something that influenced him very much, but mom? Hello, woman, he used to be gone for days and what did she do? Nothing. He’ll come back. Yeah, right. He could fool everybody about how he feels. And no one ever saw his pain.

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”

He knew that he wouldn’t be happy in life. Just like cardinal that he was talking about.

The cardinal was dead either way, whether he came inside or not. Maybe he knew it, and maybe that’s why he decided to crash into the glass a little harder than normal that day.

He admired Violet. And he shared with her a lot more than with anyone, even his closest friends and family. They all knew he was weird. But she was the only one who tried to save him just like he saved her. So he says…

“You have been in every way all that anyone could be.… If anybody could have saved me it would have been you.”

But the glow of Ultraviolet obviously wasn’t enough. In the end, I feel really sorry about her ’cause she’s constantly loosing people around her and there we see the importance of them. How everyone leave something behind them, and that what we should all do.

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

NewPicture(4)
After one beautiful classic, maybe I needed a book like this to bring me sadness and tears but also a great story about two young and special people. And, oh, I can’t wait for the movie.

Thank you for reading and let me know what’s your opinion on this book? And also, I’m currently reading Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and enjoying it so far! What’s on you list? Love you. -S

 

 

log

 

 

Leave a Reply

