books

Looking for Alaska~John Green

Hi everyoneee! So, spring is finally here and everything is sunny and bright and all I want to do is hang out and enjoy every single sun ray. Well, that’s what I mostly do when spring’s in da house but hey, someone has to blog over here! So, I’ve mentioned before that I’m kind of in love with John Green’s books and also promised that they’ll be reviewed. And, here I am, talking about one of my favorite YA novels ever-Looking for Alaska.looking-for-alaska

This is the part when I sit in front of my computer and think reeeally hard what the hell am I supposed to write here? But, it’s not because there’s nothing interesting about it. It’s way more different-I actually don’t know how or where to start.

Miles Halter-Pudge leaves his home in Florida to attend Culver Creek Preparatory High School in Alabama for his junior year. He has one really interesting obsession-he knows last words of so many people, that I also loved. When he arrives there, he meets new friends, and one really special girl-Alaska. Although she’s emotionally unstable, he likes her and through the book there are many situations when they seem to be really good couple-but unfortunately, Pudge is not the only one interested in her-she has a boyfriend. We also meet Miles’ roommate Chip “The Colonel” Martin and Takumi Hikohito. But, of course, they all seem to be a little less important than Alaska. She is really complicated character. She changes her mind in a minute. She is sensitive but also heartless. She is one breathtaking character. And that’s how Pudge feels about her:

“So I walked back to my room and collapsed on the bottom bunk, thinking that if people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

And she really was a hurricane. A hurricane that has actually been destroying itself.

“What you must understand about me is that I’m a deeply unhappy person.”

Nothing about Alaska wasn’t simple. We always expect that she and Pudge will eventually get together but one of the things that I love about this book is also that it’s not a classic love story. So, yeah, it ends kind of disappointing. But, maybe that was Alaska Young’s way out of the labyrinth. Maybe there was no other way than that.

“And then something invisible snapped insider her, and that which had come together commenced to fall apart.”

“It’s not life or death, the labyrinth. Suffering. Doing wrong and having wrong things happen to you. That’s the problem. Bolivar was talking about the pain, not about the living or dying. How do you get out of the labyrinth of suffering?”

And we all have our answers. Or nor, maybe we’re still looking for them. I could re-read this book over and over again, and I’d never get bored. It’s really great story that keeps your attention from the first to the last word. And the quote that actually pushed Miles to make some change in his life I found pretty inspiring myself.tumblr_static_looking_for_alaska

I haven’t found my Great Perhaps yet. I think that I actually need more time to even start seeking for it. But, whenever you start with that, it’s not late. You just have to find it. If I could explain how I feel about Alaska, I think that I’d need more than just these simple words. It’s true that in life we’re mostly searching for the answers. But maybe, sometimes, it’s not the answer that would make us happy anymore. Some things are hidden from us for a good reason. And what about your Great Perhaps? Have you read LFA? And I don’t take no as an answer haha! Leave your thoughts! Byeee 🙂

 

love, Seldjana, your book orchid 🙂

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska~John Green

Leave a Reply

