books

In love with John Green books

Actually, I wasn’t sure about writing this post, I mean it has a lot to do with books of course but it’s something more personal that I’d like to share because I don’t like the blog being all in reviews, that’s kinda lame if you ask me.


Well, um, of course he’s become famous with his book “The fault in our stars” and honestly that was first John Green book in my library.

Since I don’t like the romantic tragedies so much, I was surprised with the way he just made it interesting and I downloadonly wanted to read more and more of it. I’ve seen TFIOS movie before I read the book, and maybe I wouldn’t even read it if my friend didn’t give it to me. Very thankful for that tho haha! Btw, romantic tragedies became my very beloved genre.

I’m going to review this book once for sure, because it’s just perfect, but, not now tho.

So, I couldn’t wait for the movie, and, I was crying while watching it like a little baby and I was all like, you never cry, what’s wrong? Hahah.

And, yes, that’s mostly how John Green’s books get me like.


Again, I have to say, that these books always make me feel something. And all the metaphors in them, oh boy. When it comes to that part, you know, all those deep thoughts where you can realize so many little things about life, all the problems that are sooo common and you completely share the opinion with the book characters, when you actually start to understand them no matter how complicated they are (talking about Margo),well, that is for me definitely “Paper towns”.

paper-towns

As I said, I think that this book’s not for everyone to read. Maybe it looks like just another teen adventure or something, but I look at it like way more that just that. And speaking of it, while I was reading it, I enjoyed imagining Cara in the main role. Think she’s just prefect for it.


Putting all other John Green’s books aside, “Looking for Alaska” is a special category for me. When I start to think of it, it just makes me wanna rerereread it. It’s my favorite book, and I can stand behind these words whenever and wherever. IT IS PERFECT! Looking-For-Alaska-700x300

By now, I’ve read these three, and I loooved them, and they will definitely be more than properly reviewed, I assure you, so prepare yourself! Hahah. And I also want to read other books: “An Abundance of Katherines”, “Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances”, “Will Grayson, Will Grayson”, they’re on my reading list and I can’t wait to read them.

Do you have a favorite writer? Maybe you like John Green as well? I’d love to hear your thoughts on this and some of you have maybe already read other John Green’s books? You could tell me how you feel about them, but please, NO SPOILERS! Thanks for reading!

love, Seldjana, your book orchid 🙂

12 thoughts on “In love with John Green books

    1. I assure you, his works are just perfect to read and you won’t be disappointed, they made me a big fan, so watch out hahah! Honestly, I haven’t heard of Patrick Ness but I appreciate a recommendation from any book lover so I will be checking some of his works, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am so in love with John Green books too, and you were so right about the metaphors and all that deep stuff John Green manages to inject into what would otherwise have been just a simple, old, overused plot.

    I’ve read all his solo-written books (haven’t tried Let It Snow yet, but I couldn’t finish Will Grayson, Will Grayson because of the language.. all the metaphor was lost on me) but you definitely should read An Abundance of Katherines.. I’d have to say that it’s my favorite of all of his works (but I love all of them so I just have a slight more admiration for this particular one!). With that said, it is quite strange to me and now I just realized that I didn’t write a book review for it – maybe because I thought I couldn’t do it any justice with mere words on a screen (although you are very welcome to check out my reviews of Paper Towns film + book, and also of Looking for Alaska).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Will Grayson Will Grayson is my favourite book! It was crazy how much i could relate to it. But if i had to select my favourite character, it would definitely be Alaska. I think John Green books are more about character development than the story line

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! I’ve been following your blog and I’d like to nominate you for the Liebster Award! The award is designed to help people to discover new blogs and to strengthen the blogging community. If you would like to take part then you can find all the information about the nomination here: https://byfordsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/the-liebster-award-byfords-books/
    My 11 questions for you are located at the bottom of this page. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

